Arabic Virtual Academy

The Academy Blog
28 Mar 2013

The Four Types Of Love

Posted By



In his book entitled “The Explanation of  Some benefits from Surah al Fatihah” Sheikh Fawzaan made absolutely clear that Muhabbah (Love) is of four types. He then proceeded to explaine these types. He numbered and explained them as follows:

1. Muhabbatu Shirkiyah  – This is the love one has for statues, idols and everything that is worshiped other then Allah. Allah states in his book,

{وَمِنَ النَّاسِ مَن يَتَّخِذُ مِن دُونِ اللَّـهِ أَندَادًا يُحِبُّونَهُمْ كَحُبِّ اللَّـهِ}

{And of mankind are some who take (for worship) others besides Allah as rivals (to Allah). They love them as they love Allah. But those who believe, love Allah more (than anything else).}


This is because their love is that of singling them out in worship and sincerity.

2. Muhabbatu Muharramah (Forbidden) – This is the love of those things that Allah is displeased with from those things that He has made prohibited and forbidden. From these things are those that associate partners with Allah, and the disbelievers. 

3. Muhabbatu Tabee’eeyah (Natural) – This is the love an individual has for their children, parents, spouses and friends. This is a natural type of love that no one is blamed for having.

4. Muhabbatu Waajibah (Obligatory) – This is that type of love that one has for the Awliyah (friends and helpers) of Allah. It is both a love that one has for the sake of Allah, as well as an alliance for His sake. All of this is included in the statement in the Quran that states;

{الْحَمْدُ لِلَّـهِ رَبِّ الْعَالَمِينَ}

{All the praises and thanks be to Allah, the Lord of the ‘Alamin (mankind, jinns and all that exists).}


[Taken from The Explanation of Some Benefits From Surah al Fatihah by Sheikh Fawzaan]

[Translated by Abu Abdillah Abdul Lateef]

Tell us what you think about this post...
Get Adobe Flash player
%d bloggers like this: